When the TV is Off…

28 Mar

This is what happens when I say “no” to TV, “no” to computer games and “no” to watching “My Little Pony” videos on the iPhone.

 

This is something I can say “yes” to.

(And yes, I did just post a photo of my baby boy in a diaper with his banged-up knee, pacifier in place and belly showing.)

So often I choose the path of least resistance, the easy road, the instant and free babysitter. Today I did not. She asked – several times – and at one point there were tears. But we survived, and after dinner she pulled out a stack of books and began telling me the stories. And he followed suit. The house was at peace.

2 Responses to “When the TV is Off…”

  1. hereivelanded April 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    I swear, if we just make it over that initial “no” hump, my kids are infinitely better people to be around when the TV is off.

  2. hereivelanded April 10, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    if we just make it over the initial “no” hump, my kids are infinitely better people to be around when the TV is off and my house is so much more….harmonious.

Leave a Reply

