Motor Works by Discovery Toys

16 Oct

I find it incredibly challenging to shop for kids, especially in the 3- to 5-year age bracket. I like to strike a balance between something that is fun for the kids (that they can get excited about) and something that won’t drive the parents insane. This is why whenever we are invited to a birthday party I find myself standing in front of a row of toys in the store completely unable to make a decision. I often leave empty-handed.

Enter Discovery Toys. I purchased a few several years back when my daughter was a baby, and I am impressed with how well they have stood up to her destructive creative play. No broken pieces, no fading. So when my friend’s son turned 4 this year we bought him Motor Works, a versatile toy for the budding mechanic.

Motor Works by Discovery Toys

Motor Works includes a sturdy toolbox, manual and electric screwdrivers, and the parts to build a motorcycle, plane, and race car. The bright colors are pleasing to kids without being garish, and it only requires two AA batteries (not included). My friend said Motor Works was an instant hit with her son!

I love the idea of parents sitting down with their children to build something. It seems like the longest lasting toys (in terms of years of active use) are the ones that inspire kids to create and build.

My friend Karen is a Discovery Toys consultant. If you’re interested in purchasing Discovery Toys, please visit her website at www.discoverytoyslink.com/karenchao. For a limited time Karen is offering a 10 percent discount to my readers! Be sure to place your order by e-mailing Karen at DiscoveryToysKaren@gmail.com and mentioning Domesticated Mama. Orders placed through the Discovery Toys website directly will not qualify for the discount.

I did not receive any compensation to write this post. I just think Discovery Toys (and especially Motor Works) are pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

