I’m Not Crazy, I’m Just Pregnant

3 Dec

I forced myself to take a bit of a break from blogging, in an attempt to gain some sense of sanity in my home.

It didn’t really work.

Well, it did in one aspect. I haven’t been staying up until 2 a.m. sewing a bud vase cozy so I could take some pictures and write about it. Instead I’ve been staying up until 2 a.m. with killer pregnancy insanity insomnia. So I guess the joke’s on me.

The past month has been about trying to start (and finish) our Christmas shopping, gathering baby supplies, receiving entirely too many packages from UPS/USPS (because surely we won’t have any time to run to any of the various stores within a one-mile radius to purchase toiletries and cleaning supplies while we are on newborn lockdown, so I needed to place yet another Drugstore.com order), feeling grateful and overwhelmed by the generosity of family and friends, panicking over our decision to change insurance companies from a PPO to Kaiser (a change that will take effect exactly 15 days before the baby is due), dealing with The Cough That Never Ends and related trips to pediatricians and urgent-care units for mama and daughter, obsessing over minor things like Tinkerbell wrapping paper vs. Toy Story wrapping paper for Kaitlyn’s upcoming birthday, and finally dragging my dear, sweet husband and child to IKEA because our dresser drawers were nowhere near large enough to accommodate the baby’s wardrobe, cloth diaper collection and assorted linens and we needed to buy new ones pronto or all of the precious newborn-to-3-month clothes I had just washed in Charlie’s detergent would languish in the laundry basket, forcing me to rewash it all or risk it gathering dust that would somehow get into the baby’s lungs when he was at his most vulnerable and cause lung disease. Or something like that.

Phew. Now do you see why I can’t sleep? Pregnancy. Insanity.

Here’s how I’ve coped:
I bitch and moan.
I buy things online (but only for free shipping) because if I try to buy them in the store, I will end up staring at a rack of carpet cleaner/wrapping paper/invisible tape/nasal aspirators for 30 minutes and ultimately walk out of the store empty-handed because I couldn’t make a decision. About tape.
I make lists – in my desk calendar, pads of paper, Excel files, the notepad on my phone – and usually discover that I am writing down the same thing many, many times.
I eat entire packages of OREOs in a 24-hour period.
I call my fellow pregnant friend so we can bitch and moan together.

Sounds like a recipe for success, no?

The good news is, I’ve only got about six weeks to go until Baby J is here. And then the pregnancy insanity and nesting will cease and I can go back to going to bed at a reasonable hour and sleeping a solid uninterrupted eight to nine hours.

Wait… I feel like I’m forgetting something.

Oh well, I’ll remember eventually.

Leave a Reply

