More Fun with Felt: Flannel Board Doll Set

12 Oct

As promised, here’s another fun felt gift idea for the toddler in your life.

Flannel board doll set felt

It’s a felt doll set in its own travel carry case!

I would have loved this as a kid. Actually, when I was taking pictures, I wanted to keep dressing up the dolls in all the outfit variations. So I guess sometimes you just don’t grow out of that sort of thing.

I purchased this dress up felt doll pattern on Etsy – it was well worth it! The seller e-mailed me the pattern within a few hours of payment and I printed it out on cardstock and got to work.

The pattern includes one 7 1/2 inch doll (with her own little doll), four hairstyles, 12 items of clothing and four pairs of shoes.

Felt doll set

Felt doll set

Honestly, I probably could have kept going. I did at least one of each item, and a couple extra. I cut two of the 7 1/2 inch doll so Kaitlyn can play with me a friend. I was really enjoying working with the sheets of high-quality, wool-blend felt I purchased at a local quilting shop. I highly recommend using the pricier felt for this project. I cut a dress and shirt out of the less-expensive Eco-Fi felt I had on-hand from Jo-Ann, and those pieces stretch, pull and just generally look cheap. The wool blend looks durable and doesn’t stretch. With all the handling I’m hoping this set gets, I’d rather have something that will last.

I used fabric paint to add very basic eyes and a mouth. I didn’t want to get too carried away decorating the clothes – I love the simplicity of the felt and the dolls. I couldn’t resist, however, adding little pink ears and a nose to the bunny slippers.

I originally planned to make Kaitlyn a full-size flannel board, but then I realized how nice it would be for this to be a portable set. This way, we can bring it on car trips or to the doctor’s office, and when I’m nursing the baby she can play with it quietly on the sofa next to us.

A lot of the travel flannel boards I found online rolled up, which is a nice design too, but I wanted it to have handles and a place to keep the dolls and their accessories. So I drafted up a pattern for this travel case. It has batting to add a bit of thickness without being firm, and pale blue flannel on the playing surface. There is a velcro pocket on the outside to store the dolls, and a small velcro closure to close the case itself. Little handles make it easy for a toddler to carry around.

The seller of the e-pattern, luckypennymake, is generous enough to allow me to sell items created from her pattern. If you’re interested in ordering a set of these felt dolls with or without a travel carry case, let me know! Your set would include two 7 1/2 inch dolls plus the full set of clothing and hairstyles, unembellished and unpainted, for $20 (including shipping); $35 including the travel flannel case (I’ll send you fabric options to choose from). I can also do the dolls in a variety of skin tones. Contact me at karen@domesticatedmama.com.

Of course you can also purchase the pattern and the felt yourself, and make your own version. Either way, your little one is bound to have hours of fun with this set!

Leave a Reply

