Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

3 Oct

Pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting
We may be in the middle of a hot, humid stretch of weather in Southern California, but in my mind it’s fall and there’s a chill in the air.

And what better way to celebrate fall (and my dear, sweet husband’s birthday) than with pumpkin cake slathered with thick, luscious cream cheese frosting?

Excuse me while I wipe the drool from my keyboard.

Technically this recipe is called Pumpkin Cake Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting, but I didn’t find anything remotely bar-like in the finished product. Instead of a 9 x 13 baking dish, I used two square baking pans and had plenty of frosting (OMG – the frosting) to use in between the layers. There is nothing dry about this cake, folks. As other reviewers noted, I had to bake it for about 10 minutes longer than the recommended time and it was still so moist and perfect. (And for those of you who really know me, you know I hate the word moist. And I just used it twice. So it MUST be true.)

Bake this cake. You will love it. Your family and friends will devour it and sing your praises. And your kitchen will smell like cinnamon and pumpkin and all the spicy goodness of fall.

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting”

  1. The Sweetest October 3, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Weather finally did cool down today- must give you and me both an itch to bake something! I made a lemon-poppy seed cake, but this sounds de-lish!

  2. Linda October 3, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I want to eat this! Dang it!

    :o)

Leave a Reply

