Simple Trick or Treat Bag

1 Oct

Halloween trick or treat bag

During one of our many recent trips to Jo-Ann, my daughter picked out this Tossed Pumpkins fabric for a trick-or-treat bag. While the name doesn’t do anything for me, except reminding me of Halloween when I was a kid and ate so much candy I thought I might toss my pumpkins, I picked up half a yard on sale and got to work using this Classic Tote Tutorial from Sew Mama Sew as a guide. The nice thing about this tutorial is that it uses French seams to avoid the necessity of a lining, and it’s fast.

French seam sewing

French seam

Boxed bottom bag

Boxed bottom

I made a few variations on the pattern: Instead of home decor fabric, I used a standard woven cotton; I cut my working bag pieces to be 12 inches by 12 inches; and I didn’t include a pocket. I made the straps shorter and wider – the perfect size for toddler hands to be able to hang on to comfortably and protect that stash from hungry Moms and Dads candy thieves.

Trick or treat bag

This project took less than an hour from start to finish, not including prewashing and drying the fabric.

Oh, who am I kidding. Sometimes I still eat so much candy I think I’m going to toss my pumpkins.

Trick or treat bag

One Response to “Simple Trick or Treat Bag”

  1. Lisa October 3, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    that is so cute!!!

Leave a Reply

