Toddler Costume: Clifford the Big Red Dog

29 Sep

Clifford costume toddler
When our daughter told me she wanted to be a red dog for Halloween, I immediately started searching online for Clifford costumes. Most were in the $25 to $35 price range. I knew I could do better.

First I started looking for basics – perhaps a plain red long-sleeved t-shirt and pants, or even a footed sleeper. Then I remembered the pile of red fleece I had left over from another project. Bingo! I took a sample to Jo-Ann to find the same bolt, and bought another yard for a few dollars. I also picked up this See & Sew pattern for a pajama top and bottoms. I was a little nervous – I’ve never successfully sewn a top before. But fleece is so inexpensive (and so forgiving) that I figured it was as good a time as any.

All together, I spent (approximately):
$4.50 on 1 yard of fleece (with some left over)
$2.99 for the See & Sew pattern
$3 for a four-pack of headbands
$1 for black face paint (for the nose)
Total = $11.49

And from my own supplies, I used:
Around 1/2 yard fleece
Red velcro
Batting
Thread
Small strip black felt

I made some minor alterations to the pattern, skipping the bias tape around the neck and the trim at the bottom of the pants and shirt. Because fleece doesn’t fray, theoretically I could have left these seams unfinished, but they were driving me crazy so I chose not to. And because it was my first real attempt using a pattern, I tried it on Kaitlyn multiple times during the process to make sure everything was going to fit. (It did, although I ended up adding a few inches of fleece to the bottom of the shirt for my long-waisted girl.)

Clifford costume toddler sew

For the tail, I cut two curved shapes out of fleece, sewed them together and turned them right-side out. I stuffed it with batting and sewed the end shut, adding a strip of velcro. I added another small piece of velcro to the back of the pants to attach the tail, thinking that after Halloween I can rip out the velcro on the pants and she can wear them as snuggly house pants this winter.

Sew a Clifford costume toddler

I covered a headband in a scrap of fleece, hand-sewing around the edges. I cut four pieces of fleece for the ears and sewed them the same way as the tail, but without adding batting. Then I hand-stitched them onto the fleece headband. I added a black felt collar, also fastened with velcro.

On Halloween night, all this little puppy needs is a little black nose and she’s ready to go!

Sew Clifford costume toddler

3 Responses to “Toddler Costume: Clifford the Big Red Dog”

  1. Rachael Jenkins September 29, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    It turned out great!! I bet she’s the happiest little kid in the world right now. Great job Karen!

    • admin September 29, 2010 at 8:15 am #

      Thanks! If getting down on all fours and crawling around the house barking is any indication, yes, she is very happy. 🙂

  2. eme September 29, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    Yeah – it’s official. you’re pretty awesome! Tha’s a great costume 😉

Leave a Reply

