Felt Birthday Crown

27 Sep

felt crown birthday

Kaitlyn’s birthday isn’t for three months, but as soon as I saw this felt birthday crown tutorial I knew I had to give it a try.

The crown in the tutorial uses 100 percent wool felt, which I’ve never worked with or purchased, so I started researching the difference between wool felt, wool blend, Eco-Fi and acrylic. For a while there I had a week’s worth of grocery money dedicated to some beautiful pure wool felt on Etsy, but then I came to my senses.

felt toddler crown

I ended up buying 1/4 yard each of four colors of Eco-Fi felt from our local Jo-Ann, and because it was on sale, my cost for felt before taxes was only $3! I also bought some fusible interfacing and a spool of metallic thread. I used some buttons I found in my sewing box and scrap fabric for the elastic band that goes around the back.

felt crown princess toddler

While I think the wool felt would have made a beautiful crown, I’m happy enough with the result using the Eco-Fi.

felt crown

(Aside from a very, very crooked hand-stitched “K,” which has nothing to do with the felt and everything to do with me.) I can’t wait to see this pretty pink princess crown on my daughter in a few months. In the meantime, I may start wearing it around the house when she’s at preschool.

More fun with felt:
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=FFFFFF&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0074FF&t=domesticatedm-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&m=amazon&f=ifr&md=10FE9736YVPPT7A0FBG2&asins=1600610072

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=FFFFFF&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=002CFF&t=domesticatedm-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&m=amazon&f=ifr&md=10FE9736YVPPT7A0FBG2&asins=1600596150

4 Responses to “Felt Birthday Crown”

  1. JoEllen September 27, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    LOVE this! so adorable. i think i might have to give this a try for logan, who will be turning 3 just days after kaitlyn!

    thanks for sharing!

    • admin September 27, 2010 at 8:21 am #

      You should! I love the version she has for boys. Easy AND inexpensive (if you use the Eco-Fi)!

      Post a link to a pic if you end up making one. 🙂

  2. Rachael Jenkins September 28, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    Love it!!

  3. Sarah October 2, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    I recently had a customer order some of my 100% wool felt to make a crown for her daughter’s birthday and it came out so cute. I almost want to make a crown for myself!

Leave a Reply

