Art Case for Kids

14 Sep

crayon roll holder
I’ve been meaning to make a crayon roll for Kaitlyn, but today I got the itch to try something new. So I drew up a little pattern for an art case instead.

The two of us headed to the fabric store and I gave her a few options to choose from. I had it in my mind that I wanted a lightweight corduroy, but a good quality woven cotton would work just as well. I also picked up some Pellon interfacing to make the case stiffer.

After the little one was fast asleep, I got to work.

Toddler art portfolio

Overall, I’m happy with how my pattern turned out – just how I had envisioned it. I’ll do a few things differently next time. I wasn’t crazy about the interfacing I used – it made for bulky seams that were challenging to work with. And while the fabric we chose is adorable, I think it will show dirt pretty quickly.

kid's art case

toddler crayon holder

The tri-fold case closes with Velcro and holds 12 standard crayons, six jumbo crayons or six markers. The pad of paper is 6″ x 9″, which I think gives those budding artists a nice canvas to work with. The third panel holds a pocket for stickers and other essential toddler supplies.

toddler drawing case

I plan on working out the kinks and making a few of these puppies to sell. If you’re interested, send me an e-mail at karen@domesticatedmama.com.

2 Responses to “Art Case for Kids”

  1. Rachael Jenkins September 14, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    I love it! Once Jasmine gets to the coloring with crayons stage instead of eating the crayons stage it would be great to have. Especially for when we travel. I’ll definitely be buying one from you.

  2. JoEllen Noble September 15, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Karen, i love this and the pattern you chose is adorable!

Leave a Reply

