Memory Card Bag

4 Sep

Did you know September is National Sewing Month?

Apparently Ronald Reagan proclaimed it to be in 1982, “In recognition of the importance of home sewing to our nation.”

Whattaguy.

I am all about honoring national holidays when they interest me, so this weekend I created my first pattern-free, no-tutorials-available project. My good friend Maria (a talented photographer and graphic designer) was looking for a custom bag to store her camera’s memory cards while out on a shoot. It needed to hold nine cards (with a fleece lining to protect cards not in cases) and have an adjustable strap. Maria picked out some gorgeous fabric online and while eagerly awaiting its arrival, I got to work on the schematic. There is something about working with a ruler, pencil and paper and creating a diagram that just brings out the nerd in me.  But I suppose there’s little that doesn’t bring out the nerd in me – it’s pretty close to the surface.

Anyway. On to the finished product.

Memory card bag purseI’m quite proud of myself actually.

memory card purse

I think I got it right.

memory card bagSnug as a bug in a fleece rug.

This would make a thoughtful and unique gift for the photographer friends in your life. If you’re interested in purchasing one in your choice of materials, contact me at karen@domesticatedmama.com.

Sigh. That fabric just makes me smile. Is anybody else envisioning a matching tote bag?

2 Responses to “Memory Card Bag”

  1. Maria September 5, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    I love it!! Thank you so much Karen! It’ll be my loyal companion when I’m working on a session and a reminder of the best friend anyone could ever have… and I’m not talking about you Ronald Reagan!

  2. Cay September 5, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Karen, this is an amazing sewing job! You’re a natural!

Leave a Reply

