Fabric Blocks

26 Aug

fabric blocks

My friend’s daughter just turned 1, and I was on the hunt for an age-appropriate gift that I could sew. This stylish little girl has plenty of clothing, and her crafty mom sews her adorable fleece diaper covers, so I decided to make her some stuffed fabric blocks instead.

There are loads of tutorials online for cloth blocks, but I found this one to be the easiest (and I love her fabric selection!).

I customized it a bit by adding crumpled wax paper to one of the blocks for a satisfying “crinkling” sound, and a satin ribbon on another one for grabbing. Based on the reaction from my own daughter, who will be 3 years old in a few months, these blocks are a good bet for all stages of babyhood (and toddlerhood).

fabric blocks

Cloth Blocks tutorial

3 Responses to “Fabric Blocks”

  1. c lo August 26, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    I assume you are….but you’re familiar with Amy Butler aren’t you?

    Anyways, y’all need to get on twitter with this stuff, lady.

  2. admin August 26, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I ❤ Amy Butler. 🙂

    Oh yeah, Twitter. I've been thinking about that.

  3. Heather August 27, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I need to dust off my sewing machine, those look easy enough that I might be able to manage to make a few for a friend! You’re so crafty 😀

Leave a Reply

