Ten Household Tips and Creative Crafts Using Lavender

22 Aug

lavender farm

Ever since I tried a Lavender Truffle at Sweet Earth Chocolates in San Luis Obispo, I’ve had this sweetly scented flower on the brain. With just a couple of days left on the Central Coast, I decided to drive out to the Green Acres Lavender Farm, tucked away about 15 miles north of SLO in Atascadero.

The friendly folks at Green Acres encouraged me to walk the path around the property. A word of warning: If you happen to be afraid of bees, strolling through a field of lavender might get your heart racing. And that might be an understatement. But the buzz about lavender is that it is believed to have calming properties, so it should all balance out… Right?

In any case I was able to convince myself that the hordes of bees really just wanted the flowers and that they weren’t going to suddenly go ballistic and chase me all the way back to San Luis Obispo. I even managed to take a couple of photos. So I guess the lavender-calming theory is spot-on.

Naturally I had to stop in the Green Acres shop, which is a converted garage (and smells better than any garage I’ve ever been in). The shop carries essential oil, lavender water, lotion, soap, dried lavender flowers and a variety of other local goods. For the purposes of my research (and because my heart rate was still a bit on the high side), I took home a bottle of essential oil. I was sad that my trip to the farm was coming to a close, but I knew that with a little lavender and some creative inspiration, I could transport myself back to the fields of Green Acres – minus the buzzing.

Dried Lavender
Handkerchief Sachets
Eye Pillow
Lavender Pillows
Lavender Salt
Tub Teas

Lavender Essential Oil
Linen Spray
Air Freshener – just add a few drops to an oil diffuser; to freshen drawers, add a few drops to a cotton ball
Rice Heat Therapy Bag
Aloe Vera, Lavender, & Peppermint Sunburn Spray
Body Oil

lavender farm fields

Visit GreenAcresLavenderFarm.com for more ideas on how to use lavender.

2 Responses to “Ten Household Tips and Creative Crafts Using Lavender”

  1. lisa August 22, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    i ❤ lavender!! i have a lavender and chamomile linen spray that i use every time i change my sheets, it is heavenly. Dr. Bronners lavender scent is my fave for hand washing. how awesome that you got to stroll through a field of lavender! 🙂

  2. Rachael Jenkins August 23, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    You crack me up! A much braver woman than me because there’s no way I could do that walk with all the bees around. What an amazing place it must have been to visit though.

Leave a Reply

