Fresh Peach Cobbler

18 Aug

peach tree
My in-laws are drowning in peaches from the tree in their back yard. Clusters of peaches hang heavily from the branches; piles of peaches litter the ground below. In just a matter of days we have picked hundreds of the sweet fruits, shuttling bags off to neighbors, eating them morning, noon and night, freezing huge batches… and barely a dent has been made.

I couldn’t resist the opportunity to try my hand at peach cobbler. Generally I overlook fruity desserts in favor of chocolate, but I needed to do my part to eat our way out of the mountain sitting on the counter. What a sacrifice.

I wanted a simple recipe with ingredients we had on-hand, and one without any egg (my daughter is allergic). I found this recipe for peach cobbler by Paula Deen on FoodNetwork.com and decided to give it a try, with a couple of minor variations.

We didn’t have self-rising flour, so I made my own with:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt

self-rising flour
Mix and set aside. (Skip this step if using self-rising flour.)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Peel and slice 4 cups of fresh peaches. (Next time I would probably add another cup or two for extra peachiness.)

peach cobbler
Combine peaches, 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water in a saucepan. I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Mix well; bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat.

Meanwhile, melt 8 tablespoons (one stick) of butter in a 3-quart baking dish in the oven.

Mix 1 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cups self-rising flour and 1 1/2 cups milk slowly, and pour over the melted butter. I know it’s tempting but don’t stir!

peach cobbler
Spoon the peaches on top, then gently pour in the syrup. I sprinkled the top with a bit of brown sugar and some cinnamon.

The recipe suggests baking for 30 to 45 minutes; I found it took closer to 50 minutes to brown a bit on top and get a nice little crust around the edges.

peach cobbler

peach cobbler
Serve with ice cream or fresh whipping cream. Take another look at the peach tree and wonder how many more cobblers you can bake before the season ends.

One Response to “Fresh Peach Cobbler”

  1. Cherryl Mae P. Pascua August 20, 2010 at 1:22 am #

    Hi! I am Cherryl from the Philippines. I’ve been following your blogs especially about Kaitlyn. I hope that you’ll update your blogs about her as your daughter is my source of inspiration especially when dealing about my daughter’s condition. She was operated for strabismus just this Feb. of this year. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

