Cute and Easy Tote Bag Tutorial

20 Jul

I’ve been MIA for a while, and I’d just like to blame it on a little something we’ll call “The First Trimester.”

So although my sewing, baking and other craftiness went on temporary hiatus while I moped around, felt sorry for myself and let the house go to pieces, I did have a chance to make two tote bags to give as gifts, using a tutorial I came across online. Good, easy-to-follow and consistent sewing tutorials are something to be treasured and bookmarked. This particular one makes not only a stylish and simple bag, but it can also be adapted to fit your needs. On my first attempt, a Mother’s Day gift for my mom, I used the dimensions listed in the tutorial, chose a basic woven cotton for the exterior and lining, and added a layer of batting to make it a little more substantial. I also added an inner pocket for her glasses case.

The second time around, I chose a heavier fabric from the Home Decor section at my local Jo-Ann, with a contrasting liner in cotton. I also increased the size, and added a second row of stitching around the top and an inner pocket. I had trouble parting with this bag. The pink lining just made it, in my humble opinion. Thankfully I had the foresight to buy some extra fabric and will be making my own soon enough.

You can find the tote bag tutorial here. If you haven’t explored Skip to my Lou in the past, do it now! You will go crazy with gift ideas and new projects. It’s almost guaranteed to send you running to the fabric or craft store.

The finished product:

Leave a Reply

